To legally operate a motor vehicle registered in Florida, you must have personal injury protection (PIP). This type of insurance protects you in the event of a car accident where you and your passengers are injured. In addition to PIP insurance payments, you may be entitled to other damages when another driver is deemed to be at fault and negligent. To find out more about the types of compensation you could be entitled to receive, it is highly recommended you speak with a qualified Tampa car accident attorney.

A man with a broken leg is trying to walk with crutches after a personal injury.

Were you injured in a car accident? Contact Jack Bernstein, Injury Attorneys, now.

What Is Personal Injury Protection Insurance?

Personal injury protection (PIP) in Florida is no-fault insurance. All vehicle owners must carry it, and it provides access to at least $10,000 in compensation for medical bills and other losses in the event of a car accident. The purpose of PIP is to provide victims with covered medical care without having to prove fault since Florida is a no-fault state.

What Does Personal Injury Protection Insurance Cover?

Personal injury protection insurance covers personal injuries and other losses experienced as a result of a car crash in Florida. Some of the damages you could be reimbursed for include:

  • Emergency medical care: If you need an emergency room visit to treat your injuries, PIP covers will help cover these costs
  • Some non-emergency medical care: For less severe injuries, PIP covers up to $2,500 in medical expenses. For example, you may be experiencing lower back pain from the accident and need treatment.
  • Ambulatory services: PIP covers the costs of an ambulance when you need to be transported to the nearest hospital immediately due to your injuries sustained in a car accident
  • Rehabilitation: Any occupational or physical therapy treatment you need as part of your recovery from your car crash injuries is covered by PIP
  • 60% of lost wages: PIP will pay you 60% of your wages if you are unable to work due to your injuries
  • Death benefits: In the unfortunate event a loved one dies due to their injuries, PIP will help cover funeral costs. It can also provide some financial support for the surviving family during this difficult time.

Florida Requires All Drivers to Carry PIP Insurance

Florida laws require all drivers to carry PIP insurance and provide proof of this coverage before legally registering a vehicle in the state and obtaining a license plate. The current requirements for PIP insurance are detailed in Florida statute 627.736. The other required insurance coverages needed to register, plate, and drive a vehicle in Florida are discussed in Florida statute 324.021.

The current mandatory insurance requirements in Tampa and throughout Florida include:

  • A minimum of $10,000 in PIP coverage
  • A minimum of $10,000 in PDL (property damage liability) coverage
  • Taxis must have a minimum of $125,000 per person, $250,000 per occurrence in BIL (bodily injury liability)
  • Taxis must also have a minimum of $50,000 in PDL coverage

Furthermore, owners of registered and plated vehicles in the state must maintain mandatory insurance coverage at all times. Even if the vehicle is not being driven or no longer operates, it has to be insured. If you are disposing of the vehicle, you must turn the vehicle’s license plate into your local DMV office and sign off on the title first.

On the other hand, if you intend to store the vehicle without driving it, you must also surrender the plate. Once the plate has been surrendered, you can legally cancel the insurance on the automobile.

Are Non-Resident Drivers Required to Have PIP Coverage?

Non-resident legal aliens who reside and work in Florida or have children attending Florida schools and want to register and plate a vehicle in Tampa must have PIP coverage. They must also carry the other minimum amounts on all mandatory insurance.

What If I Am a Part-Year Resident?

If you are a snowbird, and your vehicle is registered and plated in another state, where your other residence is located, then you are not required to have PIP coverage in Florida. You are, however, required to have at least the minimum coverage required by your state to operate a motor vehicle legally in Florida. Otherwise, if your car is registered and plated in Florida, you must have PIP coverage, even when you are at your other home outside of Florida.

Is Florida’s Minimum Coverage Enough?

Deciding whether Florida’s minimum coverages are enough is a personal decision. However, the required minimum amounts could be considered relatively low. In the event you are in a car accident and sustain injuries or cause injuries to others, with only the minimum coverage, your insurance will only pay up to $10,000.

Unfortunately, this could leave you paying for any additional amounts above the $10,000 coverage out of your own pocket. Ideally, it is recommended to consider getting higher amounts of PIP and PDL coverages for the following reasons:

  • If you have significant and severe injuries, $10,000 will be inadequate to cover all your medical bills and lost wages
  • If you injure someone else and they sue you because you were at fault for the accident, and their damages are more than $10,000, you will have to pay them directly

Additional Car Insurance Coverage Available to Florida Drivers

Besides PIP and PDL, insurance providers in Tampa offer additional car insurance coverage for Florida drivers, including:

  • Bodily injury liability (BIL): When you are at fault for the accident, BIL pays for the other person’s injuries
  • Collision: Collision covers the costs of repairing or replacing your damaged vehicle
  • Comprehensive: Comprehensive coverage pays to repair or replace your vehicle if it is stolen, vandalized, or damaged by weather events, such as storms and floods
  • Medical payments/Med Pay: Medical payments, also called Med Pay, cover the costs of you and any injured passengers in your vehicle, regardless of who was at fault for the accident
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage: Uninsured motorist coverage pays for your injuries when the other driver is at fault and does not have insurance. Underinsurance motorist coverage provides added protection when the other driver is at fault and does not have sufficient coverage.

How Long Do I Have to File a PIP Claim After a Car Accident in Florida?

Florida has a 14-day rule for filing PIP claims after car accidents. This is because the state wants to ensure any injuries are treated promptly. Failing to file a claim within this time could result in you having to pay for any related medical expenses and losses out of your own pocket.

If You Have Been Injured in an Accident, Let the Car Accident Pros at Jack Bernstein, Injury Attorneys, Fight For You

A man with a broken leg is trying to walk with crutches after a personal injury.

After being injured in a car accident in Florida, the last thing you need to worry about is dealing with insurance companies and ensuring you receive the compensation you deserve. Let the car accident injury experts at Jack Bernstein, Injury Attorneys, assist you in taking this added stress off of you, allowing you to focus on healing and recovery. Our experienced legal team advocates on your behalf so you receive a fair settlement to compensate you for all your damages.

Schedule a consultation now with our Tampa car accident attorneys.


FLA. STAT. § 324.021.

FLA. STAT. § 627.736.

Martin, R. (2024). Auto Insurance Requirements in Florida.

Tampa Car Accident + Personal Injury Lawyers

Jack Bernstein Personal Injury Attorney

For more than 40 years, personal injury lawyer Jack G. Bernstein has protected the rights of individuals who have been injured in a variety of circumstances. Throughout his career, Bernstein has been a strategist thoroughly dedicated to the idea of protecting the rights of his clients. Mr. Bernstein is a member of the Florida State Bar Association, the Hillsborough Bar Association and the Clearwater Bar Association.

Mr. Bernstein has the experience and expertise to handle a wide range of injury cases. Among the types of plaintiffs Mr. Bernstein represents are individuals involved in car accidents caused by drunk drivers or other exhibiting negligence, medical complications resulting from carelessness caused by a physician or a medical facility, including brain injury, bicycle, motorcycle, moped and truck accidents, admiralty law and cruise ship accidents, accidental drownings, all types of wrongful death lawsuits, along with most injury, catastrophic occurrences and legal malpractice issues.

Our firm handles every type of personal injury and accident case, using negotiation and litigation tactics effectively. We handle cases throughout Tampa, Sarasota, St. Petersburg, and Clearwater, FL. With a staff of approximately 40 people, including six lawyers and 34 support personnel, we have the legal resources to get the justice you deserve and the maximum recovery for your losses. Schedule your free consultation today; we are always here to help.

Free Case Evaluation

No Fees Unless We Win

No upfront fees, no risk, and no out of pocket cost to you or your family.

Entirely confidential – we respect your privacy, consultations are privileged.