It can be tricky to know which car insurance coverage is best for your needs. While some policies only cover the bare minimum, others include additional coverage, like injuries or property damage caused by hit-and-run accidents. Our Tampa car accident attorneys share what you need to know about hit-and-run accident insurance.
What is a hit-and-run accident?
A hit-and-run accident refers to a crash in which the at-fault party drives away from the scene without providing any information or following the appropriate steps after an accident. The driver simply doesn’t stop after their vehicle crashes into another car, object, or person. This situation can be incredibly frustrating for accident victims left to deal with the damage on their own.
According to Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV), an average of about 103,000 hit-and-run crashes occur every year in Florida, leaving thousands of victims with serious bodily injuries. Some motorists carry insurance that will help cover expenses after being involved in a hit-and-run crash. However, working with a Tampa hit-and-run attorney can give victims another way to get financial relief after an accident.
What does insurance cover in a hit-and-run accident?
What your insurance policy covers after a hit-and-run crash will depend on the type of coverage you have. Auto insurance for hit-and-run crashes may include the following:
1. Collision coverage
The first type of insurance for hit-and-run accidents is collision coverage. In general, collision coverage will help with the costs of repairing damage to your car after being hit by another vehicle, even if that car drives away after the crash. If your car is a total loss after the accident, this type of insurance should also cover the full value of your vehicle.
In most cases, collision coverage is not a requirement unless you have a car loan that is not yet paid off or your car is leased. Many lenders require drivers to purchase this coverage.
2. Uninsured motorist property damage (UMPD)
If a driver flees the scene of an accident, your insurance will generally treat them as an uninsured motorist. If you have UMPD coverage, it can help cover the cost of car repairs and other property damage caused by the crash. While Florida does not require this coverage, it can be a helpful type of hit-and-run accident insurance.
3. Uninsured motorist bodily injury (UMBI)
Again, since insurance companies in most states identify hit-and-run drivers as uninsured motorists, UMBI coverage is another useful type of hit-and-run crash insurance coverage to carry. Your coverage can help with expenses linked to physical injuries you and your passengers sustain. Although Florida drivers are not required to carry UMBI coverage, you should have the option to add it to your policy.
4. Personal injury protection (PIP)
As a no-fault state, Florida law requires drivers to carry a minimum of $10,000 in PIP coverage and $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL). PIP insurance will cover 80% of all qualifying medical expenses, no matter who caused the accident. If you were hurt by a hit-and-run driver, PIP will help to pay the cost of medical care and treatment up to $10,000.
In some cases, PIP coverage will also provide financial relief for lost wages, child care, and other expenses caused by the hit-and-run accident. However, check with your insurance provider to see if this is the case in your situation.
5. Medical payments coverage
Medical payments coverage — which is referred to as “med pay” — is optional insurance coverage that can help with medical bills and healthcare-related costs after a hit-and-run car accident. This type of insurance will cover qualifying expenses regardless of who caused the accident. Unlike PIP, med pay is not required by Florida law.
Are you at fault in a hit-and-run accident as the victim?
In general, victims cannot be the at-fault party if the accident is considered a true hit-and-run. Insurance companies will only allow you to file a claim for damages after a hit-and-run if you did not cause the accident. If you did cause the accident and fled the scene, you have committed a crime under hit-and-run accident Florida law.
How do I know if my insurance covers hit-and-run accidents?
If you have questions about insurance for Florida hit-and-run accidents and what types of coverage are included in your policy, you should contact your insurance provider. You may also have a copy of your policy you can review to see if you carry collision, UMPD, UMBI, or med pay coverage that can cover expenses if you’re the victim of a hit-and-run crash.
Ask your insurance representative about Florida hit-and-run accident insurance if you’d like additional coverage on your policy.
Schedule a free consultation with a Tampa hit-and-run attorney
If you were injured in a crash, a hit-and-run accident Tampa lawyer can help you get the compensation you deserve. Contact our experienced hit-and-run crash Tampa attorneys to schedule a free consultation and see what your case may be worth.